Wanted: One sugar daddy.

Gah. Working at Borders is probably as lovely a retail experience as one can have, but, honestly? It’ss sucking my bank account DRY! I mean, come on – it’s like eight hours of browsing a day!!!! Shelving? Ooh, that looks interesting. Helping others find books? Hey, I’ve been meaning to read that. Working the register? Hmm, I wonder if we have any more of that. Example: today I bought:

1. Wideacre by Philippa Gregory – because I’ve heard she’s very good, but didn’t know if The Other Boleyn Girl and Queen’s Fool needed to be read in a certain order, so when shelving a bunch of Other Boleyn Girl, I noticed that this one said ‘FIRST in the Wideacre Trilogy.’ Seems pretty straight forward, really.

2. Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien – because I like letters and I like Tolkien. So there.

3. Garden State DVD – yay!

4. Short History of Nearly Everything (audiobook) by Bill Bryson - I love Bill Bryson and I’ve always wanted to try an audiobook, so I figured, why not? It’s a book I have and was meaning to read, so I may read along with it. I haven’t decided yet.

5. Know It All (audiobook) by Someone I Can’t Remember, but he’s an editor at Esquire – again something I wanted to read, but had held out buying the book, so I thought I’d give it a go in audiobook.

As of now, I can’t decide about the audiobook thing - I find it rather distracting, actually, as I always think of reading as a visual activity (because, duh, it is), so when I’m hearing it read to me, my brain is lagging a bit behind, picturing the words on the page, punctuation and all. But Bill Bryson is the true test because it’s something that I should like. Although, even if I don’t, I may try a fiction book on audio just because it’s different and everyone says that a good audiobook depends on the book transferring well to being read aloud as well as the performance. So. Yeah.

That’s it, really. :)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

