Fiction

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

So I’ve seen the preview for this movie a couple of times now and it looks like it’s going to be really good. And I know that usually people who like Neil Gaiman really like Neil Gaiman. Now I’ve read Good Omens, but, frankly, I found it a little boring. Don’t get me wrong, I liked Crowley and Aziraphale, but the rest of it was, well, boring. But I thought I’d give him another chance and Stardust?

Is a little bit boring. It’s a pretty standard fantasy plot. Boy loves girl, boy goes into Faerie land to prove he loves girl, boy has adventures, everyone lives happily ever after. The characters felt a little flat to me, the language felt a little stilted (it’s obviously mean to be in fairytale-ese, but unlike Keturah and Lord Death which uses it to its advantage, Stardust never really settles into it).

I don’t know, I really don’t have a lot to say. I’ll still go see the movie because it looks really good and I may at some point give Gaiman another chance because I can’t help but think there must be something about him that explains why people seem to love his writing. But whatever it is, I haven’t discovered it yet.

My rating: C+

Leave a Reply

