Daily Archives: November 10, 2007

A quick quiz!

Well, I lied. I did not stay in bed with the Doctor, Rose, and Captain Jack (Harkness, not Sparrow). I made the mistake of coming downstairs so I could watch the Food Network. Once there, I suddenly thought ‘You know what I want?’

And here’s your quiz (I’m posting these backwards chronologically-speaking so as to try and limit the amount of cheating!):

This is what I started with…

That’s sugar in one and milk in the other.

This is a mixture of sugar, vanilla, and eggs.

What did I end up with?

1 Comment

Filed under Channeling my inner domestic goddess, Uncategorized

Another hint.

This is my attempt at demonstrating the progression from white sugar to caramel. Probably would have worked better if I had a photographer assistant, but there you go. Also, I think I should have ended with a slightly lighter, more golden-brown caramel, but I ran out of patience which I blame on the fact that my parents have an electric stove while I have become rather attached, despite the element of danger (or perhaps because of it!) to cooking on a gas stove.

Ta da! Caramel!

Amazing.

Know what I made yet?

Leave a comment

Filed under Channeling my inner domestic goddess, Uncategorized

The answer!

So I poured the caramel into the ramekins, boiled the milk and stirred it into the egg mixture, and then poured that (and I’ll be honest, there was a bit of swearing and mopping up during this stage) into the ramekins on top of the caramel. Then I poured boiling water into the pan around the ramekins (more swearing involved) and…into the oven it all went!

And, 40 minutes later…ta da!

Flan! But I know what you’re really thinking…was it any good?

Yes. Yes, it was. ;)

Here’s the recipe I used – Flan Mexican. I chose it because it had the simplest ingredients – most of the other ones I found called for sweetened condensed milk and evaporated milk, which I didn’t have on hand. Tasted like flan to me – I imagine the more complicated recipes (ingredient-wise) might yield a more sturdy flan – that’s all I can think of otherwise I don’t know why you wouldn’t just use plain old milk (and mine was 1% – I didn’t know if it would have enough fat in it to work, but it did…). Also, I halved it and it came out just right for six small ramekins.

p.s. – Here’s what they don’t show you on the Food Network:

But it was worth it. Plus, there’s a dishwasher here, so that makes my job a little bit easier. And the caramel ended up being quite easy to clean up – I was worried for a bit, given the state of the bottom of the pan, but it came off!

And now back to the good Doctor.

1 Comment

Filed under Channeling my inner domestic goddess