Surprise!

It’s the chocolate surprise cookies from Martha Stewart via the Cookbook Junkie via Nosh With Me!

I changed the process for the frosting slightly in an attempt to prevent the carob from acting up. I don’t know if it was that or if the humidity was just right, but, at any rate, whatever I did worked! So here’s how I made the frosting:

Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cookies

Frosting Ingredients

  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 1/2 teaspoons carob powder
  • 3 cups confectioner’s sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons 1% milk
  • 3/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

With a mixer, whip the room-temperature butter. Add carob powder and beat until well combined. Add confectioner’s sugar, one cup at a time, alternating with the milk. Stir in vanilla extract. Mix well until the frosting reaches a spreadable consistency.

Oh, and what’s the surprise?

Marshmallows!

Vegetarian guilt note: I realised after I was in the middle of making these that marshmallows probably contained gelatin and would not actually be vegetarian. Unfortunately I was right. I kept going, figuring it was best not to be wasteful and that the cows are not being slaughtered just for their hooves, so I’m doing my best not to feel guilty about eating these. I think I’ve seen veggie marshmallows though, so look for those or make your own, substituting vegan gelatin or agar agar, of course!

Leave a Reply

