Fiction: Graphic Novels

Mr. Fooster Traveling on a Whim by Tom Corwin (writer) and Craig Frazier (illustrator)

I can’t quite decide what I thought of this book. It takes about five minutes to read, so you could just do it at the library or the local bookshop, but, at least for me, I think it’s going to take a deal of pondering before I can make up my mind about it. I want to like it. It’s lyrical and quirky and has charming, slightly surreal, cross-hatched, sepia illustrations.

But what I can’t decide is if I think it’s trying too hard to be lyrical and quirky and so on. Its charms don’t feel effortless or honest and the whole thing conjures up comparisons with Shaun Tans amazing Arrival and, one of my all-time favorites, Chris Van Allsburg’s The Mysteries of Harris Burdick. And, unfortunately, when compared with those two, it falls a bit short.

I guess what I’m saying is, have a quick look through Mr. Fooster at the library or bookshop, but then head to the children’s section and take home the other two.

My rating:

Art: A-

Story: B-

YA Fiction

Stop in the Name of Pants by Louise Rennison

Oh, Georgia, you are vair amusant! In her ninth (ninth!) outing, she and the ace gang are up to their old tricks (i.e., boy drama, Stiff Dylans gigs, persecution at Stalag 14, boy drama, the Loon family, Viking dances, boy drama…well, you get the picture). There was a moment of sadnosity, but it soon passed as these are funny pants books and once again all was well. All I have to say, really, is Georgia, you are full of fabulosity, but if a boy makes you laugh and says ‘Bugger, it has to be done’ before he snogs you, you CHOOSE HIM, no matter how gorgey the Luuuurve God may be.

My rating: A-