Daily Archives: December 14, 2009

The trials and tribulations of cat ownership

Most of you know that I have two cats. Josephine is not smart enough to have worries.

Her top three thoughts are:

  1. I love my endless supply of cat kibble!
  2. Tummy rub!
  3. Ooh, mousie!

Arthur is…too smart for his own good. He’s all angsty and emo – look at him there, contemplating all that’s wrong with the world!

His top three thoughts are:

  1. Kibble is the opiate of the masses.
  2. Tummy rubs, like life, are fleeting and meaningless.
  3. That’s not a real mouse.

I just know he’s got a stash of bad poetry around here somewhere. And so he acts out, desperate to keep his oppressors (i.e., me, the one who supplies him with food and a warm, comfy place to live and won’t let him dye his fur black or wear eyeliner [I ask him if he would jump off a bridge if all the other cats were doing it, but he just rolls his eyes at me]) at bay by doing unspeakable things on my bed. While I’m in my bed!

So, I went to Petsmart and loaded up on enough soothing cat pheromones to stop a tiger! Cross your fingers that Arthur is feeling soothed and content and happy. If the pheromones don’t work, it’s on to Kitty Prozac.

2 Comments

Filed under My creatures

This is…

…my rather artful way of finally remembering to tell you that I got a haircut and am once again the proud owner of my very own fringe!

Also that I have finished wrapping my Xmas pressies.

Leave a comment

Filed under New haircut!