Daily Archives: April 11, 2010

Now THIS I’m crazy about!

I have some issues with asparagus. Growing up, I was only aware of asparagus as a limp, stringy, chewy vegetable that would inevitably lead to one of those dinner-time showdowns with my parents that began with bargaining and threats and usually ended with me sitting by myself at the table long after the asparagus had gone cold and gotten even worse.

It wasn’t until after I graduated from college that I was introduced to the wonder that is asparagus, that harbinger of spring, roasted to within an inch of its life in butter and lemon and cheese. And I was hooked!

Except for one drawback which I won’t go into because it really does fall into the category of too much information, but, alas, I fall into the 22% of the population that are aware of it and it really puts me off asparagus except for very rare occasions.

Which is a shame because this recipe for Linguine With Lemon-Roasted Asparagus and Goat Cheese is. A. Maz. Ing. Especially the goat cheese, but especially the lemon roasting, but ESPECIALLY the goat cheese WITH the lemon-roasted asparagus. PHWOAR!

So if you like asparagus and you have no qualms about eating asparagus (or about its consequences), please, please hurry up and follow that link and enjoy, sparing a thought for me as you do!

2 Comments

Filed under Channeling my inner domestic goddess

He knows he’s not supposed to be up there!

And yet…

6 Comments

Filed under My creatures

I FORGOT!

If you like Glee, and I hope you do!, then you need to see Jimmy Fallon’s spoof in which the Late Night With Jimmy Fallon glee club goes up against the Parks and Recreation glee club. Hilarious and really well done!

Leave a comment

Filed under TV

In addition to a Pegasus, I would also like a Night Fury in my stocking this year.

And then we watched How to Train Your Dragon.

I wanted to see this just because Craig Ferguson was in it (though, like the kraken, he’s not in it as much as I had hoped) but it turned out to be an utterly enchanting movie! It is funny and charming and suspenseful and earnest and I love it.

Most of its charm lies solely with Toothless, the Night Fury dragon that our hero discovers – OMG, SO ADORABLE. WANT!

I lied before, when I said that I didn’t want 3D in my movies – Ebert didn’t seem to think the 3D really did anything for this movie, but the reviewer at EW said that seeing it in 3D was amazing, particularly in the flying scenes – I think this is one that I wouldn’t mind going back to see in 3D because I think I’d probably agree with EW, mostly because, unlike TitansWillClash, I was never aware of scenes that were intended to be elicit the big 3D oohs and aaahs which I think means that the film isn’t depending on special effects and tricks to disguise larger overarching problems.

My rating: Go forth and see this movie!

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Cracking kraken, Gromit!

Okay, there was of course neither Wallace nor Gromit in this movie, but it was too good of a post title to pass it up! So what movie am I referring to? (As if you couldn’t figure it out.)

Liz suggested it, saying that at the very least we could while away the time by admiring Sam Worthington (to which I replied that Sam Worthington didn’t really do anything for me, so she was welcome to him and I would spend my time admiring the kraken). While I wasn’t entirely sure at first, I figured I didn’t have anything better to be doing and, at the very least, you know…kraken. So I was pleasantly surprised when I found myself entertained for two hours!

Perseus is actually pretty appealing (Sam Worthington grew on me, despite, like Leonardo DiCaprio and Titanic, having to overcome his involvement in Avatar), Io is fairly badass, Jennifer Saunders Liam Neeson is noble (and, kind of hilarious), and Voldemort Ralph Fiennes is pretty creepy as Hades (and I’d say he gets the best appearance trick of all the gods – sort of a fwump! into existence in a giant cloud of black smoke and cinders [it's cooler than I'm making it sound, I promise]), I totally want a pegasus for my very own now, and the kraken is…the kraken (i.e., made of awesome).

Actually, there was entirely not enough kraken. I mean, I could actually watch an entire movie of just the kraken, but what you see in the previews is basically as much kraken as there is in the movie. So that was pretty disappointing (again, not him, just the amount of screentime he got – he needs to get himself a better agent). We were both a little disappointed in the pacing of the film towards the end, in general. It’s basically an hour and three quarters of questing and chasing and fighting and monsters and then fifteen minutes of OMG!kraken and Hades confrontation and…the end. But overall, actually a lot more entertaining than I was expecting. So maybe go in with really low expectations and you’ll have a lot more fun?

My rating: KRAKEN!!!11!!1

p.s. – There are parts, especially the scenes at the very beginning and the fight scenes in general, where it is obvious that the filmmakers were thinking in 3D and, to be honest, I found it made me a little seasick and I had  a hard time really focusing on what was happening (we saw it in 2D – I get enough dimensions in the real world, I don’t need my escapism to have three dimensions, too).

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies