Let the catching up commence!

The last day I spent housesitting for my parents I was struck with kitchen inspiration and made not one but two cakes. The first was a red wine chocolate cake from Smitten Kitchen.

The wine I bought ended up being very strange- I think it was a merlot? But it was very light in color and surprisingly bland which made the cake a little bland. It was also a little dry – I skipped the mascarpone topping that Smitten Kitchen added because I forgot to add it to my list and was too lazy to wander back across to the market at that point, but I wish I had now. I’d try it again, but definitely with a stronger flavored wine.

The other cake was a salted caramel apple pound cake.

The salted caramel? Was amazing, if I do say so myself. I’m still hit or miss when it comes to caramel, but I got this one spot. On. I managed to refrain from eating it straight out of the pan, but it was a close thing. I’m trying to remember this cake since I left most of it with my parents, but I think it was quite lovely – sweet but not overly sweet (despite all the caramel). My dad said he thought it was his favorite of all the things I’ve ever made which is high praise indeed!

Leave a comment

Filed under Channeling my inner domestic goddess

Leave a Reply

