Now that’s my kind of race!

After a disappointing show in last Saturday’s race and a similarly disappointing day at work on Friday, I decided I needed to run a 5K this morning – I felt like I needed to prove to myself that I was still making forward progress in at least one part of my life. So I woke up at 6:00 this morning and headed out to Long Creek Vineyard near Decatur for the JWA’s Run to the Vineyard 5K. Fortunately they had race-day registration and there were even still t-shirts and souvenir wine glasses! After registering, I sat in my car for about an hour reading Laura’s copy of The Great Gatsby (which I’m actually not hating this time around) until it was time to start getting ready for the race. We got sprinkled on before and after the race, but while we were actually running, the weather was clear!

It was a road race – I’ve learned my lesson after last week’s trail run – and, despite there being an uphill section on the way out and on the way back (yes, it was uphill both ways – no, there was no snow), I ran all the way and seem to, unofficially, have set a new personal best for myself! The official race results haven’t been posted yet, but when I crossed the finish line, the 5K clock said 34:33 which is an 11:13/mile pace! I’m slowly getting closer and closer to my 10:00/mile goal!

It certainly wasn’t as fun without a friend to go with me, but I still had a good time – I only wish they’d had a glass of wine waiting for us at the finish line ;)

p.s. – I felt very color-coordinated in my pink and green shoes, pink and green race t-shirt, and pink hair. Even if I’m slow, at least I’m stylish!

8 thoughts on “Now that’s my kind of race!

  1. You look so stylish!

    It’s been raining here for the past week, so I haven’t done any training in a while! The forecast is looking good for the next little bit, so back into it tomorrow!

    • Thanks!

      Yeah, the weather here is still pretty variable – it can be in the 80s one day and then rainy and 60s the next! And it’s tornado season, too – you’d love it ;)

      I’m looking forward to our Fourth of July race!

      • Oh man – I just also read your post about the tornado sirens and what-not! Crazy! (but yes, I would have totally loved it!). One day I will go storm chasing! Do we wear crazy Americana-themed outfits for the 4th of July race, or is it regular running garb?

        • I think it’s probably just whatever but I’m sure you could dress all Aussie if you wanted to – you’d definitely win an award for Traveled Furthest to Be There. In fact, you’ll probably throw off their demographics – “Wow, people are coming from Australia to run in the CU July 4th 5K?! We’re big news!” ;)

  2. Congratulations–your race times keep getting better and better! You *are* making forward progress…and you look very stylish while doing it!

    • I’m very impressed with myself – if you’d told me that one day I’d *enjoy* running three miles and, not only that, actually get better at them, I’d have laughed in your face. Who knew?!

Leave a Reply

