Young Adult

The Death Collector by Justin Richards

When I first bought this book, I was rather worried that this was the book I should have written. Let’s see: Victorian London, a pickpocket, the British Museum, walking dead, and dinosaurs. What could go wrong? But fortunately, for my peace of mind at least, it was yet another case of fascinating premise let down by the writing and, well, the plot. I think the main problem with this book was that with such an exciting idea at its core, it had a lot to live up to. It wasn’t that it was bad, really, it’s just that it wasn’t as good as it should have been.

My rating: C

Startled By His Furry Shorts by Louise Rennison

This is the seventh in Louise Rennison’s series featuring Georgia Nicholson and I don’t care that it’s basically more of the same, it’s good enough for me! Really, I just can’t get enough of Georgia’s hilarious voice. I’m glad she’s back in England after her trip to Hamburger-a-Go-Go Land in the previous book, but other than that, there’s not much to say about this one, really, other than the fact that Georgia’s family is still the most eccentric family on the block and her relationships become even more complicated than ever! This is definitely one series that needs to be read from the beginning and if you haven’t yet, I highly recommend it – it’s sort of in the vein of Meg Cabot’s Princess Diaries series (which I love, too), but with exponentially more…something!

My only complaint is that they changed not only the size of the book, but the cover as well, so it doesn’t match the other six books in the series! Alas.

My rating:B+

Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

First off, I’d like to say that this is the first date that I’m waiting for.

That said, this is a fantastic book. If you haven’t read David Levithan’s Boy Meets Boy, go do so immediately. I’ll wait.

Amazing, wasn’t it? So this one shouldn’t be hard sell, then, since half of it was written by him. The other half was written by Rachel Cohn of Gingerbread fame. They would have had to work hard to make this book go wrong. It’s a wonderful mix of romantic and gritty and makes me long to be a teenager again, but living in New York this time around. Nick and Norah have so much to explore, including themselves and each other, and they do it with a mix of prickly uncertainty and infinite courage that is inspiring.

I will warn readers that there is a bit of language and the teensiest bit of sex present, but I tell you this not to put you off the book. Not by any means. I imagine most of you are past the point of worrying about parental censorship, but if you buy it for or recommend it to anyone who isn’t yet, just warn them to be sure that no one is reading over their shoulder.

My rating: A

One thought on “Young Adult

  1. Pingback: Fiction: Essays « My blank page

Leave a Reply

