OMG Potter…but not OMG POTTER…

…which will occur next Friday.

So…back from seeing Le Potter. I have mixed feelings, which I always do because I think about all the people who are seeing these films, but haven’t read the books and that just seems so wrong because while the films are pretty good, I can’t imagine coming to them without all the knowledge of the story that they leave out. How do they fill in all the missing pieces that may not affect the plot (although some of them do) but make it such an exciting place to be and make the characters who they really are. Basically the things that are awesome in the movie are awesome in the book, but so many things that are awesome in the book are not awesome (or non-existent) in the movie. Usually I’m able to make a distinction between the film and the book, as though they were two totally unrelated things, but I had a hard time remembering to do that with this one, for some reason.

Some non-spoilery things:

  1. Helena Bonham-Carter WINS at awesomecrazy.
  2. Actually, so does Ralph Fiennes. Plus he fills out a skinny black suit just fine. Seriously, if he had a nose, I’d have a hard time resisting the dark side.
  3. Dan Radcliffe is not a good actor. I know it’s practically sacrilege to say it, but he was cute in the first two, now he’s just getting further and further away from the Harry in my head. It’s almost embarassing to watch him. I know it’s kind of harsh, but he has the millions of dollars that says I’m wrong, so I don’t feel so bad.
  4. Much love for Rupert Grint and the kid who plays Neville (Matthew…something?). Also? Luna rocks my socks. And I can’t believe she just came in at the open casting call they held – I think she’s just someone who was a fan of the books and was like ‘I understand Luna. Let me try.’ Awesome.
  5. I wanted more McGonagall because she all but throws down with Umbridge in the book. I wanted to hear her say that she would help Harry become an auror if it was the last thing she did!
  6. Alan Rickman is AWESOME. But we already knew that, didn’t we? 😉
  7. No big Quidditch death match! Really, I just wanted more Weasley twins for they are the awesomest of the awesome in the book. Their big exit into the sunset was good, but not nearly as satisfying as it is in the book.
  8. I hate cuddly!Grawp. That is NOT ON.

So I guess basically…READ THE BOOK! And now for some spoilery things (just one for now, but I may think of other things…)

ETA: Some more spoilery things below:

I didn’t remember that I meant to talk about this until I read somebody else’s review which mentioned it, but the whole ‘Nice one, James’ line during the Hall of Mysteries fight was a really great addition from the screenwriters. Sirius just says it as a throwaway – he’s busy fighting Death Eaters at the time – and there’s sort of this pause and Harry has this look on his face like he realises that Sirius really does think of him as a James-replacement, not as Harry, and it’s sort of painful, but before Harry can really react, it’s veil time and that’s the last thing that his godfather ever said to him. ‘Nice one, James.’ Not Harry…James.

Heartbreaking.

ETA: I liked that they kept Sirius’ death fairly low-key, like in the book – it’s just a moment and then it’s over and there’s other things that need to be done and something so…important happens just like the trivial things. One moment and Harry’s life changes again.

Although I wish there’d been more of a Bellatrix/Sirius battle before it happened.

ETA2: Talking to a friend at work about the Hall of Mysteries battle – two things. 1) We were both disappointed at how much they shortened the battle between the kids and the DEs. In the book, no one comes out unscathed and some of them are pretty seriously injured, which gives the whole thing weight and consequences and shows how much they believe in what they’re trying to do, what they’re trying to overcome. But more importantly 2) WHY WOULD HARRY GIVE LUCIUS MALFOY THE PROPHECY?! That’s just about the absolute last thing that Harry would do and the absolute last thing all his friends would want him to do no matter what. I noticed it at first, but I was just happy they let Lucius break it instead of Neville. At the time. The more I think about it, the more I’m unsure why they thought this fit in with Harry’s character. I don’t know, as she pointed out, the writers took out lots of things that were pretty important and then spent time putting in things that seemed really out of place.

I don’t think she thought the whole ‘Nice one, James’ line was as heartbreakingly awesome as I did. Seriously, that’s like my favorite thing in the whole film, I think.

Also, who’s Nigel? Is he really in the book? At first I thought he was a Creevey, but I’m almost positive someone called him Nigel and the Creeveys are Colin and Dennis, so…

I felt bad for Cho – in the book, it’s her friend Marietta who tells on the DA (and even then it’s because she’s worried that her mother will lose her job at the Ministry) – they made her the bad guy which let Harry out of the relationship a lot neater than what happens in the book (and makes him look a lot less of a…jerk) and then revealed that it was actually Veritaserum. So I’m not sure how that’s going to affect her relationship with Harry because surely he should’ve at least tried to apologise for shunning her.

Also, why did they even show us Kreacher and then not have him tell Harry that Sirius was out?

HOW MUCH OF A BUDGET DOES IT TAKE TO MAKE A GOOD CENTAUR?! They STILL haven’t managed it yet.

I loved the shot of the advance guard flying over London because that’s really the first time we see the Muggle world and the Wizarding world overlap and it sort of makes you think that maybe, just maybe there really is a Wizarding world out there. It’d be nice, wouldn’t it? Even if I still am just a Muggle…

Leave a Reply

