The book ennui, she is here…

In the past three days, I have started more than that many books – and none of them have caught my attention! I have tried:

  • Hero by Perry Moore
  • The Rest Falls Away by Colleen Gleason
  • Fourth Comings by Megan McCafferty
  • Not a Happy Camper by Mindy Schneider

and

  • Cotillion by Georgette Heyer

All of these books contain things that would ordinarily have me at page one, including, but not limited to, sarcastic, snarky narrators; vampires; gay superheroes; nostalgic camping stories; and what I am assured is the cutest romantic hero ever (i.e, someone completely the opposite of Heathcliff (the one who wanders the moors shouting ‘Cathy! Cathy!’ not the one who’s a cat) because, while there’s something to be said for the dark, brooding, intense, borderline crazy hero, I think I prefer my men to be a tad on the lighter side).

And yet all of them have been tossed aside after a few chapters (at the most) and the dedication (at the least).

Please to be recommending me another book to try. I am afraid to start Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer while in this period of book ennui because books which are discarded during these phases tend to be badly neglected for long periods of time to follow…

One thought on “The book ennui, she is here…

  1. Ok, no vampires or cute romantic heroes necessarily but favorite novels this year have been The Living by my idol Annie Dillard and The Judas Field by Howard Bahr. Did you see that the new Stephanie Meyer was reviewed in the NYT last Sunday?

Leave a Reply

