Fiction

The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett

There is no other word for it, this book (novella, actually) is delightful. It’s about Queen Elizabeth discovering that she has a love of reading. Really, that’s about it. Okay, it’s also about how she approaches reading, how her reading habits change (and change her), what her staff think of these changes, and has a lovely, and surprising, ending.

It’s only about 120 pages, so it’s a quick read and it really is surprisingly satisfying despite its diminuitive size. I would recommend it to anybody who likes books about books (a la Ex-Libris, which I adore!) or just anybody who likes books, full-stop.

My rating: A-

One thought on “Fiction

  1. Anne!
    I need your help – over the next couple of months I need you to make a list of the “must reads” for me to bring back to Africa…probably 6-8 books that are relatively easy to find (so that I can buy in South Africa)…you’re my bestest book buddy so I need your advice!!

Leave a Reply

