Gobble, gobble!

It’s the second biggest eating day here in the States…did you really think you’d get away without a giant food post? 😉

Mom and I cooked…well, basically all day. First, I got up this morning before everybody else and made another batch of the apple cider doughnuts.

I used the recipe for the icing that came along with the pumpkin cookies this time since that was more the consistency I was hoping for and didn’t get with the doughnut one. I substituted apple cider for the milk in keeping with the theme and it seemed to work fine. I couldn’t really taste the difference, but at least I could say that I was clever!

And then, into the kitchen where we turned out:

(left to right, top to bottom): rolls (from a box), green beans with ginger and garlic from the NYTimes Thanksgiving special insert (halved), cranberry orange relish, deviled eggs, mashed potatoes from Simply Recipes, mashed sweet potatoes with maple syrup and chipotles also from the NYTimes, rum pumpkin chiffon pie, rum whipped cream, and pecan pie.

Whew!

But there was also a tasty little fellow called a Turkey Kiss (rum, triple sec, cranberry juice, and a couple of maraschino cherries bouncing around in the bottom of the glass) which helped to ease the cooking stress.

Oh, yeah, and there was also a turkey breast, but Mom took care of that since it was just for her and Dad. A long day, but a very productive one, if I do say so myself. And I feel I may just be on my way to no longer being able to say that I can’t cook… 😉

Tomorrow it’s baking – I’m thinking gingerbread cookies (from Moosewood – yum!) and brandied cranberry and white chocolate chip cookies. So odds are there’ll be another food post soon!

2 thoughts on “Gobble, gobble!

  1. Anne.

    Wow.

    I have one question – non-thanksgiving non-American individual – what’s the biggest eating day in America??

    Here are some choices, which may or may not be correct –
    a) Super bowl Sunday
    b) Independence Day
    c) Chinese New Year
    d) Halloween?

    How close am I?

    Hehe. Thanks for the Birthday wishes, too. We had a VERY busy day, but I saw wild dogs eat an impala, which was totally cool.

    Laters,
    Claire

  2. Pingback: Yummy, yummy turkey day! « My blank page

Leave a Reply

