And they’re good for you!

Last night I made Super Macaroni and Cheese. I didn’t take any pictures because, at first, I doubted its super…icity. But it ended up being pretty good. I did the substitution of milk + yoghurt for the half-and-half and, just a tip, it did look like it had curdled after I added the wine to the mixture. Just keep stirring, and I promise it will come together properly. My mom suggested adding a little more flour as a thickener and I think that was the right decision.

Then I made Apple Cranberry Turnovers from Ellie Krieger. Now she’s a nutritionist, so her show is about how to make food you love in a healthy way which usually I’m not all about. But I like her haircut, so I watch her show when I’m at my parents’ house. And the recipes usually look good (and seem to have good reviews on the website), so I thought I’d try one out. I do like that she’s not saying ‘Don’t eat this, don’t eat that,’ instead she’s saying ‘Instead of using all of this, let’s use half of this and half of that and it’ll still taste the same but be better for you.’ And no food is a Never food – it’s okay to have that giant piece of cheesecake once in a while…

Anyway, the recipe. It was very good and pretty easy to make. You just cook up a bunch of apples, brown sugar, and dried cranberries:

Piece together some layers of phyllo dough (using canola oil instead of butter obviously – I thought I would miss it, but I don’t think I did!) and then fold it up like you would a flag so that everything is neatly tucked up inside – honestly, I don’t know why no one ever thought of that before!

Then bake them and add ice cream.

Yum! If I’d thought of it, I might have added some big, fancy sugar to the outside of them before baking (and you can certainly add some icing once they’re done – although I don’t think she accounts for that in the nutritional information!). 😉

Okay, the templates have been cut and a giant cookie sheet has been found. Construction on the gingerbread Fallingwater begins tonight!

Leave a Reply

