Music theory…

No, don’t run away! I promise this isn’t music theory. No. I have a music theory. Allow me to explain.

Following a Justin Timberlake trance that left me with that sort of queasy feeling you get after taking a nap in the sun, I decided to detox by listening to some proper music (i.e., Muse). After a week-long Muse stupor, I suddenly had a moment of revelation which led me to my music theory (I’m sure I’m not the first to point this out, but let me pretend for a moment). My theory is that Muse are not actually Muse but rather Philip Glass in a cunning disguise so that he can infiltrate popular music.

No, come back! I have examples! And, if all else fails, at least stay for the video of Muse at the end. I promise it’s worth it.

Example A: Rubric by Philip Glass

Okay, got that sound in your head? The first time I heard this next song, I immediately thought ‘Oh, I hadn’t realised Philip Glass was writing rock songs now.’

Example B: Take a Bow by Muse

See? The similarities are eerie, no? But wait, there’s more!

Example C: Floe by Philip Glass

Example D: Apocalypse Please by Muse (This one, you’ll have to wait until 1:47 to hear it, but it’s a good song in the meantime.)

I think both of those prove my point. Not that I’m complaining, by any means. If you’ll remember, I adore Philip Glass and since Muse are obviously Philip Glass in disguise, I also adore them. Plus Matt Bellamy is completely and utterly divine. Wee and banter-challenged, but still divine.

Example E: Butterflies and Hurricanes by Muse (Don’t mind me, I’ll just be over here doing my best to keep from licking my computer screen when he goes to play the piano…. Enjoy!)

ETA: I totally have a music-crush on Next Door Neighbor. The insulation between our walls is pretty good, so I can only ever sort of hear it sometimes (unlike Stompy), but when he puts on something good, I often go press my ear to the wall and listen along for a minute or two. He likes to play Kid A which is my favorite Radiohead album, the other day he was playing Loveless by My Bloody Valentine (old-school awesome!), and he’s playing something right now that I don’t know what it is, but I really like it. The singer’s voice sounds familiar, but I can’t quite place it. I’m this close to going over and asking what it is, but I’d worry that he thought it was an extraordinarily passive-aggressive attempt to get him to turn it down.

ETA 5/10/09: D’Oh! These are all gone, too. I’m on it!

4 thoughts on “Music theory…

  1. so sometimes when i have two minutes to spare i read your blog… and its funny that you bring up philip glass because i just heard on the radio that he is performing/talking at the sculpture center across the street. (www.nashersculpturecenter.org gorgeous space) now i cannot help but think about you when i hear the name.
    too bad you do not live in dallas because there is no way in hell i can get anyone else to go listen to this with me.

  2. Pingback: Guh. « My blank page

  3. Pingback: Music theory 4a… « My blank page

  4. very pithy connections–I’d never paired the two in my mind, but I do now! speaking as a music theorist (yikes!), I totally agree about the similarities between these two artists, both of whom I also totally love. I think a lot of the similarities are to be heard in the choice of chord progressions and in both artists’ love of arpeggios! As for the former, being a keyboardist, it seems that if you’re trying to a) write your music at the piano and b) avoid writing the standard guitar-rock progressions, you often come up with the kind of progressions heard in both Glass’ music and Bellamy’s music. yay for music theory! 😉

Leave a Reply

