Garden update: 1 week later

So many of the little seeds that I planted last week in the egg cartons have actually outgrown their containers. I swear the instructions said to plant them 2-4 weeks before the last frost which I would say we’re at, but in three more weeks, I expect I’ll be overrun by plants, the sunflowers and pumpkins in particular.

Look! (In an attempt to buy them some space, I cut the egg cartons apart and placed them under my cake plate [to protect them from my two cats]. Then I realised that the labels I’d used were on the lids, so I’ve had to do some forensic reconstruction here to figure out who’s what…)

So the only ones that haven’t appeared yet are the watermelons. They’re outside at the moment as it’s not supposed to frost most of this week and they’ll be eaten by cats if they’re inside without cover. Hopefully the squirrel will realise that it’s in his best interests to leave them alone for now…

I’m also trying to grow an avocado tree – you have to start them hydroponically, so it’s still inside. No roots or shoots have appeared. I think it may be struggling as it has to compete with Arthur for its water.

2 thoughts on “Garden update: 1 week later

  1. Pingback: Come and get it! « My blank page

Leave a Reply

