Disaster strikes!

It all started yesterday afternoon. I came home from work and went to check on my plants who were out on the balcony enjoying the lovely warm weather. What I found was my two sunflowers lying on the ground across from their containers. I don’t know if it was the squirrel or the fact that it was very windy that day. I’d like to give the squirrel the benefit of the doubt, but, while it may have been windy, the plants were on the ground and I find it hard to believe that the wind knockd them over while they were on the ground surrounded by walls.

So there was an emergency repotting. They’re on their own now because they can’t come back in if it freezes again.

But the real disaster is that everyone else seems to have just given up, particularly the pumpkin.

The cat grass is looking feeble through no fault of its own. Arthur has been very enthusastically making use of it. The thing is, he doesn’t just chew on it…he rips it out of the dirt and leaves little cat grass corpses littering the battlefield. I’ve sort of tried to mash them back into the dirt, but we’ll see how it goes…

Maybe I’ll just go have another cupcake… 😦

One thought on “Disaster strikes!

  1. Pingback: Come and get it! « My blank page

Leave a Reply

