A baking miscellany

Once again, I’m having a mini-holiday out in the country while my parents are off on a cruise which means I have no Stompy, unreliable internet (lame!), free laundry and groceries, and a large kitchen.

I have lots of interesting things planned, but we’ll have to see how they go. I thought I’d start things off with Mojito Cupcakes. I think the jury’s still out on this one. I think I like them, but they’re very different from things I usually make, so they’ll take a bit of getting used to.

I also started on the preliminary stages of making the Gateau Saint Honore, something I’m very excited about, mostly because it requires me to make puff pastry (yes, I know I can go and buy puff pastry, but that’s not the point!). Next month, I’m going to be part of the Daring Baker’s group, so I thought I’d get some practice in before then.

So all of that was to say that I made puff pastry today. It was suspiciously easy, but I won’t know how I’ve done until I actually try to bake some of it up. I’ll keep you updated!

That’s the butter parcel (3 1/2 sticks of butter pounded into a pliable 6×6 square and set inside the dough. You fold the butter into the dough and then go through six rounds of rolling, folding, and chilling. So time consuming, but not as difficult as I was anticipating (although, like I said, it could still end in tears!).

Leave a Reply

