Summer blockbuster tally, part 1

I forgot that it was May which means it’s time for the summer blockbusters to begin, so let’s kick things off with Iron Man!

I went because I adore Robert Downey, Jr. (I don’t know why, but I saw him in Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang and that was it – I love him!), but it turned out to actually be a pretty good movie, especially for a comic book one. The only problem was that it sort of felt like this whole movie was just setup for the sequel (no, I don’t think it’s official, but if you go see it, stay to see the little tag after the credits and tell me that you don’t think there’s meant to be one). There was a lot of backstory, which was to be expected because they have to explain how he becomes Iron Man, but it seemed to be ALL backstory.

I really liked Gwyneth Paltrow, too, as Pepper Potts (awesome name, no?), but I wish she’d been in it more because she and RDJ had really great chemistry. Also, I hope for her sake that those shoes she’s wearing in the big, final showdown were CGI or something because I have no idea how she ran around in them otherwise.

But mostly it’s down to RDJ. He has this great sort of casual, kind of sardonic delivery that’s just great. Plus he has those big soulful, cow eyes and that’s not hurting anything. 😉

I have to say, though, that, even though I liked it, I’m reserving final judgement on this one until I’ve seen the second one, so for now, the summer blockbuster tally is at 0-1-0.

Up next, I think, will be Indiana Jones – yay!

One thought on “Summer blockbuster tally, part 1

  1. We saw it a couple of nights ago and thought it was very enjoyable! Robert Downey, Jr. was great. And I agree with you about Gwyneth (more, please and how did she run in those shoes). However, I was most uncomfortable seeing one of my favorite dreamboats, Jeff Bridges, playing a bad guy!

Leave a Reply

