Last time I wanted strawberry shortcake…

…I wanted the packaged, yellow, preservative cake. And it was good. This time I wanted proper strawberry shortcake.

And it, too, was good.

I can’t decide which one I like better, though – I think the preservative cake is more what I’m used to, but I know I should like this way better. Also, I’m not sure if these shortcakes are too dry or not – I just added more whipped cream and it didn’t bother me anymore. 😉 I definitely like the touch of orange zest in the shortcake – it keeps the shortcake from being too bland and helps it hold up under the strawberries and whipped cream.

Recipe is from Chez Pim here. Definitely a good summer dessert. Hopefully, soon I’ll be able to make strawberry shortcake using strawberries I grew myself!

Leave a Reply

