IR Sci-Fi/Fantasy

Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox by Eoin Colfer

I LOVE Artemis Fowl. I may even love him better than Harry Potter. MAYBE. I can’t believe I just typed that, but it MAY be true. Maybe. At any rate, I’m always happy to see a new Artemis Fowl book come out – especially after the fiasco that was Colfer’s Airman (I got about halfway through, decided that it was a kid’s version of The Count of Monte Cristo, and got very disheartened when I saw how much more I had to read.) – and this one does not disappoint.

In this, Artemis’ sixth book, there is much to love – it’s very heavy on Artemis and Holly, who are my two favorite characters and there are some (welcome) developments in their relationship along with very exciting action and gadgetry, as always. Artemis is oddly uncertain in this book – I don’t know if it’s puberty or what, but it was a little unnerving to see him doubting his decisions and a little bit off his game when faced with his most treacherous enemy so far, himself (and someone else, but I don’t want to give it away). But when it matters, he is the same old sure, unflappable Artemis that we all know and love.

Yes, there is time traveling and Colfer (and Artemis) handle the paradoxes quite well and cleverly. There is also only a little bit of Mulch Diggums (my least favorite character due to his heavy reliance on bodily functions for humor) and THANKFULLY, there is no sign of what’s-her-name from the last book. Thank you, Eoin, for jetisonning (how do you spell that – the spell-checker won’t leave it alone, no matter what I try – it’s a word, right?!) that little bimbo. And, although he’s still in good-guy mode here, it looks like Artemis will be turning to a bit of Robin Hooding in the future – I’m glad to see him planning to make a return to crime – it suits him better – but I’m a little bit disappointed that Colfer felt he needed to qualify it (those of you who know me will know why that disappoints me).

My rating: A

One thought on “IR Sci-Fi/Fantasy

  1. Pingback: Non-fiction « My blank page

Leave a Reply

