Success!

Once again, I got a craving for coconut, which is on the top of the Controversial Ingredient list. I decided that I would give the Cherry Macaroon Tart from 101 Cookbooks a try – mostly because macaroons are the one coconut-based dessert that I can usually be trusted to like.

And because there’s something very soothing about pitting cherries without a cherry pitter.

And I lucked out! This is very good – the coconut is moist and not too stringy or chewy even though it is the main flavor of the tart. I only wish I’d used more cherries – I think the dish I was using (a 9-inch round rather than her recommended 8×11) was smaller which made for a higher coconut to cherry ratio than I think I’d like. Also, the cherries I had were almost abnormally large. If they’d been smaller, there would have been more in the 1/2 pound of cherries the recipe called for and perhaps more evenly distributed.

As you can see, it did suffer from First Slice Syndrome, but it was still very tasty…

I have to admit, though, that I actually made this a few days ago, but I was too full from the yummy, yummy huevos rancheros from the always fabulous Smitten Kitchen I made to taste it.

2 thoughts on “Success!

  1. Pingback: Have 21 oz. of cherries you need to use up? « My blank page

  2. Pingback: Tropical yumminess! « My blank page

Leave a Reply

