Summer blockbuster tally, part 9

I’m starting to think that Ben Stiller and I just don’t have the same sense of humor. I really don’t like his humiliation-humor movies (Meet the Parents, There’s Something About Mary, etc.) and, while I don’t mind the others (Zoolander…any others?), I don’t think they’re as brilliant as a lot of people do. And I think that trend pretty much continues with Tropic Thunder.

I went because a) I like everybody in it (yes, for some reason I still like Ben Stiller even though I don’t usually find him funny) and b) Entertainment Weekly gave it an A. An A! They don’t usually just hand those out, especially not to the summer blockbusters. And, while there were funny parts in the movie, I wasn’t laughing uproariously the whole time like I expected I would.

The trailers at the beginning are funny (seriously, the Kirk Lazarus/Tobey Maguire monk movie needs to be made, like, now), Tom Cruise is funny (something I never thought I’d say), and the beginning is funny. The payoff of the ending is worth sitting through the movie for as everything comes together, but I thought things dragged a bit in the middle. (I will admit that I made the mistake of sitting slightly too close to the screen – I always think ‘Oh, middle!’ when actually the back of middle is best – so I had a bit of a headache for most of the time which may have had something to do with my enjoying the movie.)

I think the funniest thing was the demographic of my fellow moviegoers. There was me, a small group of probably college-aged guys, two ladies probably in their mid-fifties who laughed like there was no tomorrow through pretty much the whole thing, and, I swear I’m not making this up, a woman who had to have been, like 87 years old on her own who seemed to be having a fantastic time!

So if you’re a Ben Stiller fan, you’ll probably love it. If not, I’d say it’s definitely worth renting (or downloading, if you can find it), but save your $7 or whatever and skip it in the theater.

Summer blockbuster tally = 4-4-1

Uh-oh, summer blockbusters, you only have about a month left to end the season with a winning tally and I can’t think of what’s left to make it up…

Leave a Reply

