Fiction: Romance

Cotillion by Georgette Heyer

I was travelling a bit this last weekend and decided to take along a mindless, fluffy book to read and so I chose Georgette Heyer to keep me company (I like to think of her as the literate girl’s Nora Roberts). It took me a surprisingly long time to actually finish this book – I don’t know why, really, the characters were likable enough (if a little bit too superficial, I think) and there were lots of plots circling around one another, but it just seemed to drag a bit. It may be that’s just Heyer’s style – pacing was differeng in the 1950s, I imagine. So, I think I’m going to have to say that it was fun, but not as fun as the others of hers I’d read – though since there’s no cross-dressing in this one, it had some catching up to do through no fault of its own. 😉

My rating: B

Leave a Reply

