New TV: Monday

The Big Bang Theory (7:00pm CST, CBS)

It’s easily the most embarrassing thing I watch on TV, thanks mostly to its raucous CBS studio audience (I swear, today when Leonard kissed Penny, they actually went ‘wooooOOOOOOOOoooooo!’). It’s perhaps not the most subtle comedy on television at the moment, but, for some reason, I love it. I think it’s because if Sheldon were a woman and short a few IQ points, he would be me.

Also, they have an awesome theme song – ‘We built the pyramids!’

My rating: I’m not about to tell anyone, but I’m setting my VCR to tape this as we speak.

How I Met Your Mother (7:30pm CST, CBS)

After 30 Rock (which doesn’t start until October 30 – Why, 30 Rock, WHYYYYYYYY?!?!?!?!), I think I might go out on a limb and say that How I Met Your Mother is the best comedy on TV at the moment. And no, I didn’t forget about The Office and, yes, I adore The Office. Everyone’s back and everyone’s fantastic! Lily and Marshall are hilarious, Robin’s cool, Ted’s earnest, and Neil Patrick Harris is giving Alec Baldwin a run for his money for Funniest Man on Television. I adore Barney! 😀

Stella accepted Ted’s proposal, but I can’t bring myself to believe that she’s The Mother. Which makes me sad because I like Sarah Chalke – I guess she’ll have to head back to Scrubs soon enough, though.

My rating: Legen–come on, how could I not do it?–dary!

Heroes (8:00pm CST, NBC)

I like Super-Powerful and Ruthless Peter from the future. I miss Matt and Mohinder playing My Two Dads with Molly. I still LOVE Hiro. I like his speedster chick much better than his Japanese princess. Sylar is back with a vengeance. I can’t seem to separate reality from fiction because I can’t stop thinking that Claire and Peter are actually dating despite being uncle and niece and am oddly un-freaked out by it…

What’s up with indestructible, evangelical Nathan? What about Ali Larter and Ali Larter and Ali Larter (are there three of them now or still just the two)? Will Maya be as boring this season as she was last season? How about Micah and his cousin who learns things? How will they get to the point where Claire is ready to shoot her boyfriend favorite uncle? Will Mr. Buggles survive a third season? Why is Mohinder always so sweaty (not that I’m necessarily complaining…)? Wait, is Sylar not the big baddie for this season?

Mostly, the main theme of my Heroes-watching evening has been ‘Bzuh?’ I didn’t buy season 2, uh, because it sucked, but I may have to now just to refresh my memory.

My rating: Season 1 was so great, I’m overlooking season 2 (it was all the writers’ strike’s fault, really) and giving them a hearty second chance.

One thought on “New TV: Monday

  1. Pingback: New TV: Monday « My blank page

Leave a Reply

