IR Fiction

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

So in preparation for The Graveyard Book* which absolutely everyone is talking about (and has been for months, it seems), I finally, finally read Coraline. I think I’m probably the last person with an interest in children’s literature to have done so, but there you are.

Anyway, I read it last night (I don’t often read novellas, but they do provide a great sense of accomplishment, don’t they?) which was probably not the best time to be reading a Neil Gaiman book. I’m not sure I’m as rapturous a fan as most Neil Gaiman readers are, but the man definitely does eerie extraordinarily well. It’s very spooky and also sort of fable-y, too, but mostly I think I appreciated it not so much for the story as for the ambience that Gaiman creates within his fairly limited world here. There’s little explanation of how things are happening which I found a bit frustrating, but sometimes that sort of thing has to be sacrificed for the mood – I mean, the unknown is always more frightening.

I’m not sure how I’d recommend it, though, its length and the language makes it seem as though it’s aimed at younger readers, but I think it would be too scary and a little too…intangible for them. So even though it’s usually shelved in the Independent Reader age group (though it was in YA at the shop I bought it from), I think it’s definitely meant for older readers.

My rating: B

*It’s out already, but the bookshop I went to didn’t have any copies in stock, so I haven’t managed to get a hold of it yet.

3 thoughts on “IR Fiction

  1. Hi, I thought I’d say hello, as I found your post right under my own in the “books” category and my name is Anne as well. You’re not the last person interested in children’s lit to have read Coraline – this is the first I’ve heard of it. But, I’ve definitely heard of The Graveyard Book, which is on my reading list, so I think I’ll take a look at Coraline, too. It sounds like one I’d like.

  2. Anne,
    Neil wrote a book with Terry Pratchett – I’d recommend it. Can’t remember what it’s called, though. But there was gangster paintball in it…. At least I think it was Neil.

  3. Pingback: IR Sci-fi/Fantasy « My blank page

Leave a Reply

