YA Fiction

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Okay, seriously. People in the YA book world have been talking about this book for months, ever since the ARCs went out. And when I say ‘talking’ I actually mean ‘raving.’ So I was anxious to get my hands on it as soon as it came out.

And maybe it was the fantastic build-up it got, but I found myself a little bit disappointed.

Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoyed it, I thought it was a good book and well-written, and I would definitely recommend it to people, but I just didn’t get what was so special about it that it would send people into paroxysms of praise. (For me, that would be Keturah and Lord Death.)

It has an interesting premise – Gracelings are people gifted with special talents that can range from the ordinary (the ability to juggle anything) to the slightly scary (the ability to kill anybody) and can be spotted by their mismatched eyes. The story centers around Katsa (not entirely likable) who has a killing Grace and Po who has a, well, I don’t want to give it away, but he has a Grace and is eminently likable up until the last quarter of the book, I thought. But from there, it’s just the standard fantasy/quest plot.

So, yes. Good book, entertaining book, well-written book. I will admit that I couldn’t put it down and ended up finishing it during the car ride up to Chicago yesterday. But genre-changing book? Not particularly.

My rating: B+

Leave a Reply

