A holiday rant!

Listening to all the Christmas music being played on the radio has made me realise that I much prefer the darker Christmas songs – O Come, O Come Emmanuel; The Angel Gabriel; and In the Bleak Midwinter which brings me to my rant. 

Nobody does the right version of In the Bleak Midwinter anymore! By ‘right,’ I mean, the arrangement by Holst, not the tacky version by…well, I don’t know, but I’m sure he’s tacky, too.

This is the wrong version as sung by the Choir of King’s College, Cambridge:

And because no one does the right version anymore, here is the first verse of it by the Choir of Anne’s Living Room, Illinois:

Happy holidays to everybody!

One thought on “A holiday rant!

  1. The traditional version of In the Bleak Mid Winter is my favourite Christmas carol. In fact I just live from Cambridge and that famous choir. So one day I will treat myself to attending the carol service!

    Happy holidays and all the best for 2009 🙂

Leave a Reply

