Happy New Year!

Since I’m on my own for New Year’s Eve, I thought I’d make myself a fancier dinner than usual – no grilled cheese sandwich or frozen pasta on this night! So I made Tomato and Goat Cheese Tarts and Oven-Roasted Vegetables from my new Barefoot Contessa cookbook (I adore her, but I usually can’t quite justify them because they’re pretty pricey and there’s just enough meat that it doesn’t seem worth the cost since I won’t be able to use about a quarter of it – but I’d bought it as an Xmas present for a friend of mine and when it turned out she’d already gotten it as a present, I decided to just keep it for myself). So good! And easy – but slightly more time-consuming than I was expecting…

I couldn’t find fennel at the market, so I used brussels sprouts instead and left out the asparagus altogether because I just wasn’t in the mood. But oh, so, tasty!

I’m off to have a bit of champagne and try and do some writing when the new year comes, since they say that what you’re doing at midnight is what you’ll be doing for the next year and I definitely want to get back to my writing in 2009. Speaking of which, I think I’m the last one to go, right? Hope it’s off to a good start for the rest of you – I’ll be there in a couple of hours!

ETA: No, Janis, you’re the last one to go, right? I got confused about my time zones there for a bit! Anyway, here’s to a happy new year, everybody!

One thought on “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

