January Daring Bakers Challenge!

Thanks to the wonders of the internet, I am not actually here posting this – I’m in sunny Mexico (at least I hope it’s sunny!), having left behind the arctic wonder that has become central Illinois. But before I left, I managed to get this challenge completed.

This month’s challenge is brought to us by Karen of Baking Soda and Zorra of 1x umruehren bitte aka Kochtopf. They have chosen Tuiles from The Chocolate Book by Angelique Schmeink and Nougatine and Chocolate Tuiles from Michel Roux.

Let me start by saying that, apparently, cream horn molds do not actually exist in my vicinity. At all. I called/went to EVERY possible store that I thought would have them, including a professional kitchen supply shop. NO CREAM HORN MOLDS. So I just had to sort of very carefully and with lots of swearing attempt to roll them into a cone shape by hand.

NOT COOL.

Literally.

I wasn’t sure how thick to spread the batter and I think they ended up being kind of uneven. Also, I probably should have let the egg whites come to room temperature before I added them to the butter mixture because I think they made the butter seize back up again and ended up in clumps in the batter. ALSO, I let the second batch bake for less time than the first and they were too soft to hold their shape and then I overbaked the third batch and they ended up being too crispy to roll without cracking.

So I really only got two good ones (okay, to be honest, I ate some of the more misshapen ones and they tasted super-yummy – especially the lovely, crispy third batch) that would be in any sort of way picturesque. I filled them with Ina’s Lemon Mousse which, oh, my god, SO GOOD. But since I only ended up with two fillable cookies, I had an actual ton of mousse left over. Guess I’ll just have to eat it by itself – darn!

Click on the Daring Bakers logo above to see lots of other beautiful and tasty tuiles!

3 thoughts on “January Daring Bakers Challenge!

  1. I too had shaping problems! I made mine too thick, so they didn’t roll very easily. Yours looks great, the coloring is amazing, perfectly golden! The lemon mousse sounds great!

Leave a Reply

