IR Sci-fi/Fantasy

Alex and the Ironic Gentleman by Adrienne Kress

Right now I’m on the beach at Acapulco and I’ve just finished Alex and the Ironic Gentleman, so I thought I’d take a moment and post about it!

It takes a while to get going, which is probably my main complaint. And then once Alex’s adventure starts, there are quite a few detours. The style of the writing is almost fable-like, but the structure doesn’t match up with it.

But Alex is likable and there are lots of interesting characters that she meets along the way, so it’s a fun read with lots of adventures. Everything seemed to wrap up pretty quickly, so I’m hoping that there’ll be a sequel.

Just a warning: It’s a little violent at times (what did you expect, there are pirates?!) and there are consequences for some of the characters.

My rating: A-

One thought on “IR Sci-fi/Fantasy

  1. Pingback: IR Sci-Fi/Fantasy « My blank page

Leave a Reply

