February Daring Bakers Challenge!

The February 2009 challenge is hosted by Wendy of WMPE’s blog and Dharm of Dad ~ Baker & Chef. They have chosen a Chocolate Valentino cake by Chef Wan; a Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from Dharm and a Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from Wendy as the challenge.

This is the first challenge I’ve made that I can’t actually eat. Since I stopped having caffeine (which tends to give me migraines), I haven’t baked with chocolate  – because I’m selfish and don’t see the point of making things that I can’t have! 😉 But I owed my grandparents a dessert (and my carob powder is hidden in the depths of my kitchen disaster at the moment), so I thought I’d be generous and make it with real chocolate. And I chose Wendy’s recipe for ice cream because it had fewer ingredients and I was feeling lazy.

This recipe was very quick and easy to make – I think I’d definitely have another go with my trusty carob powder! The ice cream I CAN taste and it is super yummy. I don’t even really like ice cream that much, but I just have this overwhelming desire to curl up on the couch and eat it straight out of the ice cream maker!

Technically, because it’s not heart-shaped, it’s not a Valentino cake, but the rules said we didn’t have to and again…lazy! Plus why expend all that extra energy on something I can’t have! So I made one large one and gave it to my grandparents, whose response seemed positive – my grandmother called me up and grilled me about how exactly it was made because she couldn’t figure out how it got the consistency that it was. I also made two small ones (one of which is in my photos) to give to my parents. They both liked it, too. I ended up serving the ice cream in a small ramekin because I was too anxious to get it served, photographed, and tasted and didn’t want to wait for it to set any more in the freezer.

So, yes, even though I haven’t actually tried it myself, reports have been that it’s quite good. Once I’ve dug my carob powder/chips out of the remnants of my kitchen, I’ll probably give this another try just for myself!

Click on the Daring Bakers logo above to check out everyone else’s Valentino cakes.

One thought on “February Daring Bakers Challenge!

Leave a Reply

