Fiction: Graphic Novels

Watchmen by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons

Holy cow. I’d picked this up numerous times because everyone (i.e., the internet) says that it’s amazing, but always found a reason to put it back. Until I realised on Saturday that the movie was coming out this Friday (i.e., tomorrow!), so I stopped at the bookshop on Monday after work and finally bought a copy.

And it was amazing. I have to say, I was still expecting lots of ‘Blammo!’, ‘Biff!’, and ‘Kapow!’. But instead it’s complicated and interesting and full of plot development and character development and layers and fascinating narrative structure and moral conflict and probably so many other things that I’m missing because I had to read it so fast, but, yes. AMAZING.

Read it, read it, read it.

I’m also looking forward to seeing the movie tomorrow, just to see how in the world the filmmakers could possibly capture everything and put it on the big screen. Probably they can’t, but it’ll be interesting to see them try. Plus I just want to see more Rorschach! He’s seriously awesome. And super-creepy. Like SUPER-creepy. Halfway through, I suddenly sat back and thought ‘Why in the world do I love him so much?’ and it finally occured to me. They’ve dressed him just like Skulduggery Pleasant, who is actually SUPER-AWESOME (I mean, come on, he’s a living skeleton with magical powers who wears a purple pinstripe suit with a white scarf and a fedora-style hat – he tops my fictional crush list, man) and not at all creepy. (Okay, to be fair, they’ve dressed Skulduggery Pleasant like Rorschach, but still…) But it’s too late. To me, Rorschach = best ever.

Without giving too much away, the ending is…unsettling. And not entirely satisfying. And I thought it came along a little too quickly, but still, even though I could see that things were coming together, I kept turning the pages, hoping something different and not inevitable would happen.

My rating: A

p.s. – I’ll report back on the movie tomorrow!

One thought on “Fiction: Graphic Novels

  1. Pingback: Well, it’s not summer, but… « My blank page

Leave a Reply

