In which I am a terrible vegetarian, Or, fish guilt ahoy!

So, even though I advertise myself as a vegetarian, a few times a year, I get an unavoidable craving for seafood. And because I am weak, I give in and then am saddled with fish guilt for a few months…until the next craving settles in. Today’s slip was caused by the enabler that is Ina Garten and her lobster pot pie. Because in addition to not eating meat, I also don’t eat pot pies. Because I don’t like them (I think it’s the unnatural orange of the carrots and also maybe the sludgy sort of texture). But for some reason, when Ina made her lobster pot pie, my immediate reaction was ‘MUST HAVE.’

But because I live in central Illinois, the only lobster to be had in the market is the live ones in the tank which make me sad and almost put me off my seafood craving. There was frozen, cooked shrimp in the freezer section – and the organic ones, which I like to think means that they had a very nice little castle in their roomy tank to look at before they were humanely and quickly…well, you know – and that put me back on track.

However, I think I’m going to have to chalk this up to a waste of fish guilt because it turns out I really don’t like pot pies. Too rich, too…creamy, too smoodgy. Blech! Which is a first for an Ina recipe, but I don’t think it’s her fault, really. I mean, aesthetically, I could appreciate the flavors (and the pearl onions were a nice touch), it’s just the whole pot pie-ness of the pot pie.

At the last minute, I also ended up making her dill fingerling potatoes (but with cilantro because I didn’t have any dill) and even though some of them ended up a bit undercooked, they were really, really tasty – I’ll definitely be making these again. And now I’m going to go have a piece of the lime coconut cake and try not to think about the pot pie and the poor shrimps who died for it.

So…vegetarian friends, can you forgive me?

Leave a Reply

