A classic!

This is a recipe that I’ve been eating for, well, as long as I can remember – I’m not even sure where the recipe came from, so I’m just going to type it out for you here. I have to say, though, this is one of those recipes that will depend on a lot of things – if your pan is smaller, I’d add some sugar to the pancake batter part of it and bake it for a bit longer; if the pan’s bigger, I’d leave it as is; I bet it’d work with a different fruit, too.

It’s not photogenic, but here it is:

Apple/Large Skillet Pancake

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 apples (Granny Smith), peeled and sliced

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Mix the first three ingredients together with a whisk. Set aside. Melt the butter in a large oven-safe pan. Add the cinnamon, sugar, and apples and saute approximately 5 minutes in a large skillet or until the apples are softened. Pour the pancake batter over the apple mixture and bake in the 425 degree oven for 15 minutes (the top of the pancake should look dry). Remove from oven and let stand for 5 minutes. Dust powdered sugar and cut into wedges to serve.

Serves approximately 4.

One thought on “A classic!

  1. Pingback: What do you do with a bag of cherries? « My blank page

Leave a Reply

