May Daring Baker’s Challenge!

The May Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Linda of make life sweeter! and Courtney of Coco Cooks. They chose Apple Strudel from the recipe book Kaffeehaus: Exquisite Desserts from the Classic Cafés of Vienna, Budapest and Prague by Rick Rodgers.

I had never made apple strudel before so this was a very interesting challenge. I will admit to being worried after I read the instructions (anything that involves tissue-paper-thin dough is usually very frustrating [e.g., phyllo dough]), but it ended up being fairly simple.

Although my dough never got stretched out to the 2×3 foot dimensions that were given in the instructions, I think it could definitely be described as tissue-paper-thin:

It looked pretty yummy when it was done, too:

But then I took a bite and I was, well, a bit disappointed. I think it came out tasting like it was supposed to, it’s just that this kind of dessert is not at the top of my dessert hierarchy. This is a very delicate, not overly sweet dessert – probably a big scoop of vanilla ice cream would have helped it a bit but since ice cream falls quite low in the hierarchy, I didn’t have any on hand to serve with it – and I’m afraid my dessert tastes run to the more substantial.

I gave it to my parents to share with my grandparents and reports came back that were positive, so even though I’m not a huge fan, I think I’ll count this as a success!

Click on the Daring Kitchen logo to see our temporary blogroll where you’ll find lots of beautiful strudels to drool over!

Apologies again for the poor quality photos – I still haven’t found the plug for my camera charger and have been forced to rely on Edward who, despite taking perfectly good holiday snaps, is a tad out of his element with attempts at artful foodie photography…

Leave a Reply

