June Daring Cooks challenge!

I will admit that I approached Jen‘s challenge – Chinese dumplings/potstickers –  with a bit of trepidation – first of all, because they looked a bit delicate and fiddly and I wasn’t sure how much patience I would have during the assembly process and, second of all, because there wasn’t a recipe given for a vegetarian filling and that scared me!

But, thank goodness for the forums where I used Shellyfish‘s idea of using mushrooms, white beans, green onions, and soy sauce. I didn’t use any sort of recipe (go me!) – I just dumped a container of baby portabello mushrooms in the food processor with a can of white beans, some grated fresh ginger, and a few splashes of soy sauce and then stirred in the chopped green onions. Super tasty!

I have to add my name to the list of people whose dough ended up on the dry side, but I gradually kneaded in a bit of water and eventually it all came together. I was pretty nervous about the assembly process – having to fold all those delicate little pleats, but, although I’m sure I could still use a bit practice to get them really picture-perfect, I was quite pleased with how they turned out. Jen has very thorough instructions (with lots of pictures!) on her blog which helped immensely.

Since I don’t have a steamer (though these ended up being so easy and so yummy that I’m totally going to have to get one to see what that’s like), the first time I made these, I went for the pan-frying method – a bit scary what with the spitting oil step – and they turned out very nicely, with a crispy bottom and a very tender filling.

It made quite a few potstickers (I still have the other half of the filling in my freezer to be made at a later date – probably sooner rather than later!) so I put the ones I hadn’t cooked in the fridge to have the next day when I tried boiling them. I was a little worried that they might be too mushy or might fall apart in the water, but they were just as tasty as the pan-fried ones.

For my dipping sauce, I used the given proportions of soy sauce and vinegar (2:1), but I didn’t have the garlic-chili paste, so I stirred in some grated ginger, garlic, and hot red pepper flakes and it was very tasty, too!

So, yes, a very successful Daring Cooks challenge – yay! Click on the logo at the top to see our temporary blogroll and lots of other tasty potstickers. 🙂

One thought on “June Daring Cooks challenge!

  1. Hurray! What a great job on your DC challenge! Your pleats look great. Seriously – people are complaining that their pleats don’t look good, but I’m seeing nearly expert dumplings coming out on the blogs. Way to go!!

Leave a Reply

