Tasty, tasty fall!

I have been feeling in a fall mood lately (yes, I know it’s appropriate), so I decided I wanted to make something. Something with pumpkin. And I knew exactly what that something would be.

I can’t remember now whose food blog I read about it on, but my clicking led me to Gesine Bullock-Prado and Confections of a (Closet) Master Baker. I’m desperate to read her book (she left behind a career as a Hollywood executive to open her own baker in Vermont), but until I can lift my book-buying ban, I will have to stick to reading her blog. And that’s how I knew what that something would be.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies (with maple cream cheese filling).

As you can see, I went a little overboard, both with the size of the pies part of them (I really need a scoop that’s between my normal cookie scoop and my ice cream scoop) and with the filling part (though just for this one, I went down a scoop size for the others), but they are super-yummy (even if I can’t eat an entire one).

And they taste just. Like. Fall.

I also learned a lesson tonight. Arthur likes to sleep on top of one of my kitchen cupboards. The only way for him to get down is to jump onto the counter. Where I had left my pies cooling. Yeah…I had to throw away four of them because they had paw prints in them. That’ll teach me!

One thought on “Tasty, tasty fall!

  1. Pingback: A last minute, cobbled together dessert… « My blank page

Leave a Reply

