Time for answers!

Janis did a very impressive job sleuthing out the answers to my birthday puzzle – she got 6 of them right along with the theme of the puzzle (all things that happened on my birthday)!

The answers!*

  1. Des Moines was founded September 22, 1851.
  2. This is Samuel Osgood, the first United States Postmaster General, a position which was established September 22, 1789.
  3. This is a picture of the first American-made automobile, made by the Duryea Brothers, which was first displayed on September 22, 1893.
  4. The first issue of National Geographic Magazine was published on September 22, 1888.
  5. Bulgaria gained its independence September 22, 1908.
  6. On September 22, 1896, Queen Victoria became the longest-reigning British monarch.
  7. Wagner’s Das Rheingold, the first in his Ring Cycle, premiered in Munich on September 22, 1869.
  8. An early version of the Emancipation Proclamation was released on September 22, 1862.
  9. The Duke of York’s Cinema opened on September 22, 1910 in Brighton and is now the oldest continually operating cinema in Britain.
  10. I was born September 22, 1980!

*My “research” comes from Wikipedia, so it’s best to take it with a grain of salt. Don’t look at me like that – it was my birthday and if I want to be lazy and use Wikipedia as a reliable resource on my birthday, I can! 😉

One thought on “Time for answers!

  1. That’s a car? I could’ve pondered that one for years. Thanks for all the entertainment! Next year I’ll be able to say Happy Bulgarian Independence Day!

Leave a Reply

