Slowly but surely!

Given my recent loss of kitchen mojo, I was a little reluctant to try again, but, you know, getting back on the horse, so…

That’s Alton Brown’s Stovetop Mac ‘n’ Cheese and the Pear, Rocket (minus the rocket – I didn’t see any in Schnuck’s, but I’ll have to have another look), Parmesan, and Pine Nut Salad from the failed dinner party. And they are super-yummy!

I had to make a few, minor alterations to each:

  1. Instead of using evaporated milk, I used cream (because teh intarwebs said I can). I did actually have a can of evaporated milk, but it expired October 31…2006…so I thought it best to not use it. I have to say, though, that I have recently successfully made blueberry muffins from a mix (yes, a mix!) that was two years old.
  2. Instead of just using cheddar cheese, I took the opportunity to clear out my cheese shelf and used a mixture of everything that I had left – mostly cheddar, some fontina, a mystery cheese that I think may have been parmegiano reggiano, and some of the Mexican mix cheese. It all combined to be very tasty!
  3. I added corn and…those Japanese soybeans whose name I can’t think of at the moment at the melting-the-cheese stage, and some cherry tomatoes after it was cooked.
  4. In the vinaigrette for the salad, despite having red wine vinegar, white vinegar, rice vinegar, and apple cider vinegar, I do not seem to have white wine vinegar, so I used the apple cider vinegar instead. Still very tasty, though!

ETA: Edamame! That’s it what I added.

Leave a Reply

