Oh, the carnage!

I decided to risk it and tried to make the Golden Egg recipe from Gesine Bullock-Prado’s book Confections of a Closet Master Baker (which I caved and bought, along with a couple others).

It did not go well.

Actually, it did go well until I tried to remove them from the pans. The recipe called for cooking spray, but I don’t like cooking spray because it gloms itself onto your pans and never lets go, so instead I used butter. Which did not work. At all.

The doughnuts in the background there along with one cupcake were all I was able to salvage and by that time, I was too frustrated to dunk them in butter and cinnamon sugar and just ate them as is. They were very tasty, but I imagine the cinnamon sugar makes them even better.

Very similar to these, but a little eggier and nutmeggier, too.

2 thoughts on “Oh, the carnage!

  1. oh child, I feel for you. the spray, and a lot of it, is key. those non-stick puppies always stick. I know the baking goo is nasty but when you use it liberally, it can mitigate the carnage. But you got to eat the nasty bits and they still tasted good so the most important part is accomplished.

    • I’ll be sure to remember for next time – and there definitely will be a next time. If they were this tasty without the cinnamon sugar, they’ll be amazing with it. Thanks for a great recipe (and the video demo was really helpful, too)! 🙂

      p.s. – I made your pumpkin whoopie pies also and they were amazing!

Leave a Reply

