There aren’t enough old-timey exclamations for this recipe!

Jeepers! Zounds! Crikey! Jinkies! (Okay, we’re wandering into Scooby-Doo territory, so I’ll stop now…) But this salad is GOOD!

And I don’t even like salad.

It’s Burnt Carrots with Goat Cheese, Arugula, and Crispy Garlic Chips from Ezra Pound Cake and it’s amazing. Amazing! All the different flavors just blend together so well – the tartness of the vinaigrette, the sweetness of the carrots, the creaminess of the goat cheese, and the crisp garlic. Amazing! And fairly easy. Quite a lot of smoke was generated when I was charring the carrots – I’m sure my neighbors were thrilled – but other than that, it was pretty straightforward.

Unfortunately, I ate it first instead of starting with my main course, Roasted Tomatoes and Cippolini Onions from Smitten Kitchen.

This is a recipe that I’ve been longing to make ever since she posted it over on her blog, but it took me a while to actually find the cippolini onions. I’ll be honest and admit that I did forget to add the basil once everything was finished and put together, but compared to the burnt carrot salad, this dish tasted a little…well, bland. I think if I were eating it by itself on a cold, winter’s night, maybe it would taste better, but all I could think was ‘You know what this needs? Goat cheese! And some burnt carrots. Ooh! And garlic chips, too!’

ETA: Ah, leftovers. On Day 2 of the roasted tomatoes and cippolini onions, I remembered to rub garlic on the hot toast and to add the basil and it has made all the difference in the world – super yummy and flavorful now!

Leave a Reply

