What to do with leftover buttermilk?

This is a question that I’ve often had to deal with, most recently in the aftermath of my chocolate sheet cake. (I have to say that I’m SO glad it’s possible to get the small size of buttermilk carton – the kind that has exactly a cup of buttermilk in it – instead of having to get the whole quart which was impossible to use up in time!) Luckily, I stumbled across this recipe for buttermilk cheddar biscuits which needed just 1/2 cup of buttermilk (it also calls for an extra large egg, but I used a large one and it turned out fine).

Pretty yummy, very easy, and, like the chocolate chip cookies, I froze these, too. Not only do I not have to eat ten or so biscuits before they all go bad, but I get to have just one freshly baked biscuit whenever I want! Now they only got a pretty yummy because I find them to be a little bit bland – I meant to add some minced garlic to them and maybe some thyme would be nice, too. The texture of them is perfect, though, so I think it’s worth fiddling with the recipe a bit to get the flavor just right.

2 thoughts on “What to do with leftover buttermilk?

  1. I’ve been walking past the dried buttermilk in the baking aisle for some time. Have you tried it? I feel guilty just thinking about it…

    • I haven’t – I don’t think I even knew it existed (though I guess it makes sense that it does since there’s powdered regular milk [which I’ve only used for breadmaking before]). It’s just as easy to make a substitution with regular milk and lemon juice. If I try it, I’ll be sure to let you know how it works!

Leave a Reply

