IR Fantasy

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Seeing as this is considered a classic in the canon of kids’ books, I can’t believe it took me this long to finally read it! Especially since it was so good!

It kind of has a fable-y quality to its style, but it also turns things a little sideways – Sophie comes from a place full of fairytales (wizards and witches, demons, seven-league boots, etc.) and, being the eldest of three, is resigned to a uneventful life. Of course that’s not what happens otherwise she wouldn’t have a book written about her!

Full of engaging characters who aren’t always what they seem (but sometimes are), I would highly recommend it.

My rating: A-

2 thoughts on “IR Fantasy

  1. I loved this book too! Did we talk about this and the movie? You haven’t seen that, right? We should watch it and then compare. You’ll be a bit disappointed that they changed some of the plot (b/c the book was just kind of exciting in that young-adult fiction sort of way); but, the movie totally makes up for it. Christian Bale’s voice. Yum…

    • We did – it’s why I took it with me on vacation! Have you read the other two? I can’t remember what they’re called, but apparently they take place in the same world and I think Sophie and/or Howl make an appearance or two in them. Just wondering if there’s enough of the two of them to make it worth my time…

      I haven’t seen the movie, though – it’s definitely on my list. I remember you said that you didn’t like it as well – did they play down the little romance between Sophie and Howl? Also, does Christian Bale do a Welsh accent for the movie (I assume he’s voicing Howl)? Because that might be enough to push me into the Christian Bale camp…

Leave a Reply

