New Who!

I am the first one to admit that I am resistant to change, especially when it means that I will no longer be seeing David Tennant on a regular basis. But I found myself being charmed by Eleven!Doctor despite the fact that I find his brow a bit on the heavy side. (What can I say, I’m shallow?!)

The Doctor and his new Companion, Amelia have good chemistry – of which I approve this time. I think it’s because there’s no overlap this time around – we had Nine!Doctor and Rose and then we had Ten!Doctor and Rose and Martha and Donna and on his own, but now we have Eleven!Doctor and Amelia. I no longer have to spend my time shouting at the TV (as I told Liz) ‘Get away from him, Martha, you slag! He belongs to Rose!’ (I liked Ten!Doctor and Donna because I didn’t have to do that, but I felt like he was always pining for Rose anyway and it made me sad.) Now I don’t have to do that anymore! So it’s sort of like starting anew – I remember David Tennant!Doctor, but Matt Smith!Doctor seems like a  completely new character since there are no holdovers to remind me of who he used to be.

I love that the whole village knows about the Doctor! I love Amelia (I wouldn’t have turned my back either!) – she seems adventurous and curious like Rose but not smug and insufferable like Martha. And just a quick question about the Doctor himself – doesn’t he need his tea before he can function first as we learned when Nine! regenerated into Ten!? Maybe that’s why the Tardis and his sonic screwdriver were misfunctioning at the beginning…

I like that they’ve set up hints of an overarching plot to set us up for the rest of the series – hopefully Moffat will be able to follow through better than he (or maybe that was just RTD’s failing) usually is (and just like he didn’t with Donna – I’m sure I saw the beetle thingy on her back in a later episode – just a hint of it but with no explanation). Speaking of series, does anyone know how many episodes we’re getting this time?

Also, yay, callback to all the other Doctors and yes, threatening!Doctor does push all my buttons – I am on board! 😉

So I have been grudgingly won over and am looking forward to more! (OMG, River, WWII Daleks, Cybermen, THE WEEPING ANGELS [WANT WANT WANT NOW] – SERIOUSLY, SOMEBODY TELL ME HOW LONG I HAVE TO WAIT FOR MORE!)

5 thoughts on “New Who!

  1. I watched another episode of the 4th series last night–Midnight. That’s actually the first episode I had ever seen. It’s nice to be able to put it in perspective now. I believe you about liking this new Doctor, and I’ll definitely want to keep watching them. But I still want to cry! No, David Tennant! You don’t need a career/other roles besides the Doctor! That’s who are you ARE! I’m not sure he’d agree with me, though…

    I think I’m going to find that I’ll become more jealous of his companions b/c they seem to be getting younger, about my age, and I know the whole time I will be thinking, “I wish that could be me. That COULD have been me….” (because in my fantasy world, stuff like this really does happen)

    It’s nice to not have to hate Martha anymore. I totally agree with you on that one. 🙂

    • Hee! You’re right – I think Amy is 22, so she really could be you! But Donna was older, so you still have some time to become a Companion, you know. 😉

      I know, I know, it’ll never be the same as it was with DT, but he’s moved on and that means it’s time for us to, too. It won’t be easy, but you don’t have to go through it alone! 😉

  2. P.S.–What’s with his shoes??? At least in the picture. I guess I don’t mind the bow tie and suspenders, really–but the shoes look a bit orthopedic.

    I don’t think much can compare with DT’s pinstripes and sweet chucks. (ok, will stop comparing now. I want to like this new Doctor.)

    • You know, I actually don’t remember what shoes he ends up wearing – I think they’re sort of cream-colored boating-type shoes, but I’m not sure.

      You’re right, I do miss DT’s pinstripes and especially the Chucks – all the cool kids wear them, you know – Ten!Doctor, The Edge, me. 😉

      • Oh, and I’m sort of on the fence about the bowtie – I mean, I’m trying to like it but it just seems like too much of an affectation, you know? ‘I’m so quirky I wear a bowtie!’ But I’m trying…

Leave a Reply

