Mmm, sacrilicious…

Today is either Easter or RDJ’s birthday – I’ll let you choose for yourself which one you’d like to celebrate.*

So in order to celebrate whichever holiday you’ve chosen, I made cupcakes! I’ve been wanting to make these Chocolate Souffle Cupcakes with Mint Cream from Smitten Kitchen for ages, but I was waiting until Lent was over because Rachel, one of my friends from work, gave up chocolate and I wanted to be able to share. And I think they’ll be glad I did!

Despite having the word souffle in the title, these were actually pretty easy to make! I have to say, though, I’m glad Smitten Kitchen said in her instructions that the cupcakes would almost immediately begin to fall once they were out of the oven or I would have been devastated. As it was I was still a little worried because mine seem to have fallen even further than hers did, but I think they turned out okay. Actually, I know they turned out okay!

What did not turn out okay – or at least as expected – was my white chocolate mint cream. I beat that cream for a good ten minutes and never got to soft peaks! I put it back in the fridge with the beaters, thinking ‘Oh, cold usually helps you get things whipped up into shape.’ Nothing! Actually, it did seem to set up a bit while it was in the fridge, but then I tried whipping it even more and it went right back to being sort of just extra-thick cream. So maybe the trick is to refrigerate it until the moment before you eat it? I don’t know.

In any case, it still tastes fine, but definitely needs to be eaten with a spoon to get the full effect. I was a little worried that it might taste a little bit on the toothpaste-y side – it certainly smelled like toothpaste – but instead it tastes just like she said it would – like melted mint ice cream. Yum!

*I know who I made these cupcakes for.

*cough**cough*

ETA: I forgot! The recipe calls for 1/4 teaspoon of espresso powder or instant coffee, but, seeing as I have to draw the line in the caffeine somewhere, that is where I drew it and substituted cayenne pepper instead. It goes nicely with my gingerbread recipe and I’ve always wanted to try those fancy truffles that are like chocolate and curry and chocolate and cumin and I thought ‘Chocolate and cayenne…why not?!’ You can’t really taste it, though, but at least I was trying…

2 thoughts on “Mmm, sacrilicious…

  1. Yay! I was somewhat mentioned! Those cupcakes sound and look yummy. I can’t wait to try them! Sorry I didn’t bring the bunny cake. I shared that with my family! I didn’t know it was RDJ’s birthday today! Maybe I’ll celebrate right now and have some chocolate. 🙂

    • You were! I don’t know why I didn’t just call you ‘Rachel’ – I shall rectify that immediately!

      I think you should – RDJ would want you to have chocolate on his birthday. 😉

Leave a Reply

