Cake I’m not crazy about!

I can hear you now. ‘Anne,’ you say, ‘have you learned nothing?’ Well, I can only say that after this I really, honestly, truly will trust my instincts about what I will and won’t like. Because I totally should have seen this coming.

And I can even tell you why. It’s the cinnamon. As I was measuring it out, I thought to myself ‘You know, you don’t have to put it in just because the recipe calls for it.’ And I told myself to shut up and did it anyway. In an attempt to mask it, I also added vanilla and two lemons worth of zest (which got completely swallowed up by the cake, might I add, you really cannot tell it’s there at all). But still…cinnamon.

I think, for me, cinnamon doesn’t go with blueberries because it’s a warm, cozy flavor and blueberries are fresh and bright and they just should never, ever be paired together. But the girls at work didn’t seem to object to the cake, so here is the recipe – objectively, it’s a good cake; subjectively, I will even probably make this again, but, for the love of god, I will not add the cinnamon.

3 thoughts on “Cake I’m not crazy about!

  1. I’m glad to see you tried my recipe and I’m sorry you had some problems with it. I have to admit I was a little skeptical about the flavour combination too, but after some attempts, I love cinnamon, blueberry and lemon together. Blueberry Boy Bait Cake is something I’ve never heard of before but apparently it’s pretty popular and it doesn’t originally include any lemon. The Lemon Blueberry Glaze was a touch I added myself because I’d experimented with the three flavours before with muffins and they are now my very favourite muffins. I hope you do decide to make it again and trust in the recipe. 🙂

    • Oh, I hope it didn’t sound like I was too down on the recipe – I think I just haven’t gotten used to the cinnamon-blueberry combination. Everyone I shared the cake with really liked it, though, so I’ll just have to keep trying!

      I really liked the lemon blueberry glaze – a very nice touch! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Why, oh, why am I unable to properly cook linguine?! « My blank page

Leave a Reply

