Now THIS I’m crazy about!

I have some issues with asparagus. Growing up, I was only aware of asparagus as a limp, stringy, chewy vegetable that would inevitably lead to one of those dinner-time showdowns with my parents that began with bargaining and threats and usually ended with me sitting by myself at the table long after the asparagus had gone cold and gotten even worse.

It wasn’t until after I graduated from college that I was introduced to the wonder that is asparagus, that harbinger of spring, roasted to within an inch of its life in butter and lemon and cheese. And I was hooked!

Except for one drawback which I won’t go into because it really does fall into the category of too much information, but, alas, I fall into the 22% of the population that are aware of it and it really puts me off asparagus except for very rare occasions.

Which is a shame because this recipe for Linguine With Lemon-Roasted Asparagus and Goat Cheese is. A. Maz. Ing. Especially the goat cheese, but especially the lemon roasting, but ESPECIALLY the goat cheese WITH the lemon-roasted asparagus. PHWOAR!

So if you like asparagus and you have no qualms about eating asparagus (or about its consequences), please, please hurry up and follow that link and enjoy, sparing a thought for me as you do!

2 thoughts on “Now THIS I’m crazy about!

  1. Just want to clarify that neither Anne’s mother nor I recall making her sit in front of cold asparagus at any time. But her way is very dramatic. I’m just sayin’ . . .

    • Oh, stop lying. Everybody knows that every parent and kid do this at dinnertime. Frankly, I know how you feel about asparagus and I don’t think I’d be far off the mark to suggest that Mom went through this with you, too!

Leave a comment