I’m trying to save my energy for my next Sherlock Holmes post…

…so apologies if my wit is a bit lacking. Actually, I hope it IS lacking because if it’s not, that would mean that the rest of my blog has this same monotone quality to it that I’m hearing in my typing at the moment…

ANYWAY. Last week, April 25, to be exact, was ANZAC day. ANZAC stands for the Australia and New Zealand Army Corps and, although April 25, 1915 was the day that Australian and New Zealand forces landed in Gallipoli, it has become a day of memorial for those who fought in both of the World Wars. (I’m paraphrasing from the Australian War Memorial website – feel free to pipe up and correct me if I’ve got something wrong.)

Needless to say, around the food blogosphere, there were lots of recipes popping up for ANZAC biscuits and, remembering how yummy they were when I’d had them while I was in Australia for our Reef to Rock tour, I decided to make my own, despite it being rather past April 25 and despite the fact that I am not, in fact, Australian.

So I asked Claire (who IS an Aussie and also bakes a lot) if she had a good recipe for them. Turns out she does! I had to make a few provisions for a couple of the ingredients not being readily available here in the States, but I think they turned out very nicely.

My picture didn’t turn out well, but trust me, they taste a LOT better than they look.

ANZAC Biscuits

Adapted from Women’s Weekly by Claire

1 cup rolled oats
1 cup plain flour
1 cup caster sugar [I think caster sugar is actually somewhere between granulated sugar and confectioner’s sugar (superfine?), but I just used regular granulated and it seems to have worked]
¾ cup desiccated coconut [I just used regular, sweetened coconut flakes because that’s all the market had]
125g butter
2 tablespoons golden syrup [It’s not easy to find golden syrup in this country, so Claire suggested a ration of  2 parts corn syrup to 1 part molasses, but I couldn’t be bothered doing that complicated of math, so I used 1 1/2 tablespoons of corn syrup and 1/2 tablespoon of molasses]
½ teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1 tablespoon boiling water

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Combine oats, sifted flour, sugar and coconut. In a saucepan combine butter and golden syrup and stir over a gentle heat until melted. Mix soda with boiling water, add to melted butter mixture, and then stir into dry ingredients. Place tablespoonfuls of mixture on a lightly greased baking sheet, allowing room for spreading.

There are 2 types of Anzacs – crunchy and chewy. Depending on which you prefer, you need to alter the cooking time. Maybe take a tray out at 15 minutes and then some at 20 and see which you prefer. [They had to bake a lot longer than I was expecting even for chewy ones – I think the total came to be about 30 minutes or so, but just keep an eye on them and you’ll be all right. I actually only baked off the two you see there and put the rest, already scooped out, in the freezer. I baked two more of them today and it seems to have gone well!]

And enjoy!

2 thoughts on “I’m trying to save my energy for my next Sherlock Holmes post…

  1. Good job Anne! Very nicely done. Sorry my baking time estimations were not entirely accurate, but I see you managed fine anyway!

    I want Anzac biscuits now!

    • We’ll have to make them while you’re here just so you can verify that I’ve done it right! Even if I haven’t, they’re still tasty.

      No, I totally thought the baking times you gave me would be about right – I was really surprised when it had to go so long, but I guess that’s what a 300-degree oven requires (I accidentally overbaked ones yesterday – 30 minutes at 350 – I ate them, but if I’d let them cool much more, they’d have been rocks, so you’re definitely onto something with the slow oven).

Leave a Reply

